About Us
Mission Statement
Rules of Conduct
 
Name:
Pswd:
Remember Me
Register
 

Contacting the Media -- Vital info for you to share.
Author: Raine    Date: 08/05/2009 01:46:20

It isn't impossible. Just like we contact our congresscritters, we should contact the media. It is equally important to tell the media as well as congress what you are thinking about and what your opinions are. Otherwise, they will simply answer to their corporate sponsors. (again -- a lot like the congresscritters.) I am supplying to you a list of contacts (both phone #'s and email) in the media. Tell them what you think about a particular story or event. Tell them you want to see the things that are near and dear to you to be covered! Things can only change if Americans are active participants in making things happen.

It doesn't matter what the issue is... we ALL should have the ability to contact the media at our fingertips. Here is a handy list to do so. Let's get started:

First, and foremost: contact your congresscritter with this tool: http://www.congress.org/congressorg/directory/congdir.tt

Then, contact the media and tell them what you think!
CNN
(404) 827 – 1500
Comment line: (404) 827 - 0234
fax: (404) 827-4215.
CNN NEWS DIRECTOR: Kim Bondy (404) 827 1500
Her fax: (404) 827 1099
CNN NEWSROOM 404.827.1500 . 404- 827-1500. cnnfutures@cnn.com
Call Anderson Cooper at 1-866-NY-AC360

Everyone at CNN is listed individually on this
page: cnntv

MSNBC

Phone: 212-664-4444
EMAIL: letters@msnbc.com
( I will supply twitter accounts to various on air
persons -- Look for updates here.)

CBS

Phone: 212-975-3247

ABC-

ABC NEW YORK NEWSROOM: 212-456-5100
newsradio@abc.com
Newsroom
Fax Machine 212-456-5150

Peter Salinger Director, Special Events & Sports (he was in CHARGE OF ELECTION
COVERAGE)212-456-5105 Peter.salinger@abc.com

Cristi Landes, Manager, Programming
212-456-5107
cristi.d.landes@abc.com

Wayne Fisk Director, Programming
212-456-5327
wayne.fisk@abc.com

Jeff Fitzgerald Executive Director, Operations
212-456-5554
jeffrey.t.fitzgerald@abc.com

Heidi Oringer Executive Director, Entertainment
212-456-5541
heidi.b.oringer@abc.com

Jon Newman News Coverage 212-456-5100
jonathan.m.newman@abc.com

Joyce Alcantara Assignment Manager
212-456-5106
joyce.a.alcantara@abc.com

Jim Kane Deputy D.C. Bureau Chief
212-222-6604
james.f.kane@abc.com

Andrew Kalb Executive Director, Programming
212-567-2269
andrew.l.kalb@abc.com

Robert Garcia Executive Director, News & Sports
212-456-5103
robert.garcia@abc.com


C-SPAN

Contacting C-SPAN's Washington Journal:
Republicans: (202) 737-0001
Democrats: (202) 737-0002
Independents: (202) 628-0205
Outside U.S.: (202) 628-0184
Email Questions or Comments: journal@c-span.org (This e-mail address is
being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it )

ASSOCIATED PRESS OFFICES:

212-621-1500
contact.html

NEW YORK TIMES NEWS DEPARTMENT

To send comments and suggestions (about news
coverage only) or to report errors that call for correction, e-mail href="mailto:nytnews@nytimes.com"]nytnews@nytimes.com or leave a message at
1-888-NYT-NEWS. To contact a reporter, click on the byline of one of his or her
articles to access the reader e-mail form. You can also find any reporter's
archive here (alphabetized by last name; reporters' names are italicized):
Times Topics: People –

NY Times people index.html

The Editors
executive-editor@nytimes.com
managing-editor@nytimes.com
The Newsroom
news-tips@nytimes.com


FOX NEWS

1-888-369-4762 general number

1-877-9-NO-SPIN (877-966-7746) O'reilly

EMAILS FOR FOX:
comments@foxnews.com,
fns@foxnews.com ,
yourcomments@foxnews.com ,
oreilly@foxnews.com ,
ontherecord@foxnews.com ,
hannity@foxnews.com ,
sportsblog@foxnews.com

*************************************

PERTINENT EMAIL ADDRESSES:

Jim Lehrer jlehrer@newshour.org
Andrea Mitchell andrea.mitchell@nbc.com
Andrew Sullivan andrew@theatlantic.com
Bob Herbert bobherb@nytimes.com
Chris Matthews hardball@msnbc.com
Chuck Todd chuck.todd@nbcuni.com
Clarence Page cpage@tribune.com
Cynthia Tucker cynthia@ajc.com
David Remnick (the New Yorker) david_remnick@newyorker.com
Donna Brazile dbrazile@earthlink.net
E.J. Dionne Ignatiusd@washpost.com
Ed Schultz ed.msnbc@nbcuni.com
Eugene Robinson robinsong@washpost.com
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28437928/

Howard Fineman webeditors@newsweek.com
Jim Lehrer jlehrer@newshour.org

Joe Klein
Josh Marshall
talk@talkingpointsmemo.com
Keith Olberman countdown@msnbc.com
Mark Ambinder marcambinder@theatlantic.com
Mark Halperin (no direct, but address him and use letters@time.com )
Morning Joe - http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28437928 /
Rachel Maddow rachel@msnbc.com
Stephanie Miller stephanie@stephaniemiller.com
Steve Clemons steve@thewashingtonnote.com
The New York Times Editors letters@nytimes.com
The Washington Post www.washingtonpost.com
Thom Hartmann thom@thomhartmann.com
Tom Brokaw http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/6872152
Steve Capus steve.capus@nbc.com
Phil Griffin phil.griffin@nbc.com


JOURNALISM WATCHDOG AGENCIES TO CONTACT

FACTCHECK: Editor@FactCheck.org
- Drop them some facts; They need them
POLIFACT: truthometer@politifact.com -
Drop them some Facts; they need them
American Journalism Review: editor@ajr.org -
Columbia journalism Review: editors@cjr.org - (Drop them a Tip. They are
looking for them)
Committee of Concerned Journalists ccj@concernedjournalists.org
FAIR: fair@fair.org
- Drop them a tip - They are looking for them
Institute for Public Accuracy: dcinstitute@igc.org
media matters: mm-tips@mediamatters.org - Drop them
a Tip. They are looking for them

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR TOOLS

Letter to Editors
Congressorg/dbq/media


Please -- add more as you find them. We will add them to the post. if a link is broken please report it -- we will fix it.


5 comments (Latest Comment: 05/11/2010 21:05:12 by Raine)
   Perma Link

Share This!

Furl it!
Spurl
NewsVine
Reddit
Technorati

Add a Comment

Please login to add a comment...


Comments:

Order comments Newest to Oldest  Refresh Comments

Comment by Random on 08/05/2009 10:20:56
Nice list...

I is here, early morning.

Pleasure to see everyone this early.



Comment by Scoopster on 08/05/2009 12:19:47
Mornin' Random! How's the road trip goin'?

Comment by BobR on 08/05/2009 12:53:08
FYI - the morning bloggie is up...

Comment by wickedpam on 08/05/2009 12:55:11
MOrning



Good List!



Maybe that should be pinned somewhere for easy reference

Comment by Raine on 05/11/2010 21:05:12